Trash Challenge Week 4

So here we are at the beginning of March, which means my trash challenge is done! It’s been four weeks of collecting all the rubbish I’ve generated (excluding items such as food waste), and it’s given me even more ideas for reducing my impact on the environment. Here’s week four’s photo:

Trash Challenge Week 4

  • 2 milk bottles
  • 1 large yoghurt tub
  • 1 glass soy sauce bottle
  • 1 bread bag
  • 1 small butter tub
  • 2 sausage roll wrappers
  • pizza packaging
  • 1 spring rolls box and plastic tray
  • plastic wrap and plastic tray from a whole chicken
  • 1 cod fillets box
  • 1 mine packet
  • 1 plastic grapes tray
  • 1 takeaway container
  • 1 crackers box and inner bag
  • 1 garlic bread bag
  • 3 chocolate wrappers (2 used for baking, 1 given as a gift)
  • 4 paper cases from a biscuit tin
  • 1 individually-wrapped mini roll
  • 2 old gift cards
  • assorted recipes and small pieces of scrap paper
  • prescription bag
  • magazine wrap and paper advert
  • junk mail (which came before I put a note on our letter box)
  • 3 cardboard toilet rolls
  • 3 contact lens cases
  • 1 Amazon box, paper padding and note (from a gift)
  • 1 instructions list
  • 1 sticker
  • 1 plaster and packaging
  • 1 cardboard label

There’s definitely still a lot I want to do, but this challenge has been great at making me more away about what I throw ‘away’ every week. If you’re stuck in an eco-rut or just fancy a challenge then give it a go!

This week I put a ‘no junk mail’ sign on our letter box, bought a sandwich from a sandwich van and had it put straight into a container not a paper bag (I was very proud of this!), tried to buy more things in bulk (such as meat and baking ingredients). I’ve kept baking too,Β which has definitely saved on a lot of plastic waste.

Supermarket shopping is a little scary for me at the moment, because I’m so conscious of all the packaging surrounding me. But it’s great to be aware of it, and I know that I’ve definitely reduced waste from fruit and veg shopping, so that’s a big plus.Β Here are my four photos from the challenge:

Trash Challenge Week 1 Trash Challenge Week 2

Trash Challenge Week 3 Trash Challenge Week 4

I don’t feel like I can see much of a difference from my photos, but as I said before, it hasn’t been very long yet. My blog is all about changing your impact on the environment and I know that if I keep making small changes then the amount of rubbish I produce will reduce. One of my main aims is still to cut down on food packaging, particularly that from meat and fish.

I hope you’ve found this challenge interesting – I really think it’s something everyone should try, even if it’s just for a week! If you don’t fancy collecting it, then you could try making a list of everything you throw away, and taking a look at it at the end of the week. Maybe you can spot some habits that you can change?

As always, I would love to hear from you πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Trash Challenge Week 4

  1. I’ve just read Anne Lene’s post and now yours. Makes me very self conscious about the waste we produce in our household. We defo have some work to do. But I’m also very inspired to see what can be done! Well done!

    • Thank you! I still feel so self-conscious about it, but I’m glad I’ve been making efforts to reduce it since I started blogging. It’s easier than you think to start off with. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

    • Ooh, that’s a good idea! I have lots of ribbon so could make the paper more exciting by tying presents up with that. Thank you! We’ve had no junk mail since I put up the note on our door which makes me pleased πŸ˜€

  2. I have only just seen these posts on trash challenge. I think it is a great idea to take pictures of the trash that you acquire in a week. By visualising it you get to see your impact in what you purchase. I may have to try this out myself. Thanks for the interesting post!

    • Thank you very much! It’s so much better to see it rather than just imagining how much you acquire. I’d love to read about your challenge if you do it πŸ™‚

  3. Bravo! You are so brave and conscientious! I have taken the time to find toilet paper without cardboard inner tubes. One small step. I thought of you and your quest this morning while watching a little video on The Grommet site, advertising the Joco glass cup. I guess you’d have to carry the cup around to your favorite shop, or just make your own! (I have no connection to The Grommett, of course, I’m sure you could buy it elsewhere.)

    Good job!

    • Thank you! Ooh, that glass cup looks great! I have mastered taking a container with me when I buy a bacon butty or sausage rolls out somewhere so maybe that is my next step πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Joanna, are you including in your rubbish things that will then be recycled, like your paper and plastic bottles? Or composted? Good going though – counting it all like that really makes you think about it. I haven’t done that yet, mostly because I struggle with other household members being less conscientious, and I need to find a balance between being a good influence and not getting them totally offside by being the rubbish police.

    • Hi Anne, very sorry for the late response! I included all the things that can be recycled, but not food waste. Thank you – it really made me much more conscious of it. I tried to get my boyfriend included, but we just included joint items and my individual items. Maybe you could pick an area or just go for the items that you and you only use?

Leave a Reply

