Plastic Trash Challenge

Welcome back to Every Week is Green after a unexpectedly long break! I’ve still been trying to keep up with my green changes despite being off the blogosphere for a while, and I’ve decided to set myself a new challenge for February.

One of my favourite books to read about going green is Beth Terry’sΒ My Plastic Free Life. She gives fantastic depth on what plastic is made from, what all the different types of plastic are, how/if they can be recycled, and why it’s important to start cutting them out of your life. There are also numerous tips about reducing it in different areas (food, cleaning, personal hygiene etc), so it’s a great read if you’re looking for something new and green to try, or if you just need a little motivation.

One of her first challenges is called Plastic Free Challenge. The aim is to collect all of your plastic rubbish for a week (or more) – instead of throwing it away – because this gives you a much clearer picture of how much waste you’re generating.Β Beth has a blog page about it which you can find here.

I’m keen to know about all the things I’m throwing away, so my aim is to keep all my trash for at least one week, but preferably the whole of February. This will be plastic, cardboard, paper, and anything else that would normally go in the bin or be recycled. This won’t include things like food waste, which it obviously isn’t practical to keep lying around. As Beth says, I’m including anything that I have used, but nothing that my boyfriend is throwing away that I haven’t used – e.g. I’ll include packaging from foods we have both eaten, and that I have eaten by myself, but nothing from foods he has eaten by himself.

I’ll post a photo of my trash at the end of the month – it’ll be interesting to hear what you think! Have you tried doing a similar challenge? Or maybe it’s something you’d like to attempt?

24 thoughts on “Plastic Trash Challenge

      • Mine is filling a (reusable!) shopping bag and we’re only four days into February…
        Interested to see where you end up too! πŸ™‚

      • So far I’ve managed with a small mason jar, but today i had to fill window wiper fluid on the car.. So I probably have to move over to a shopping bag soon… like you, I’m currious to see where we end up πŸ˜‰

      • Off couse πŸ™‚ photo is on the agenda.. Haven’t decided though, if it’s a week or month “project” yet πŸ˜‰ U?

      • I think it’ll be a month for me, but I’ll probably post after a week and see how I’m doing. Also going to try and get my boyfriend on board with this too!

  1. I am glad you are blogging again! Good luck with your challenge! When I started collectingy trash, I would take everything out at the end of the month and place it into categories. For example: kitchen, out to eat, medicine, bathroom, junk mail, etc. Each month I would choose the largest pile and create a short term goal for myself, something I could accomplish the next month. I didn’t eliminate all my trash at once but this helped me make the change to living trash-free sustainable. Best of luck! I can’t wait to see where you take this project.

    • Aww, thanks! It’s good to be back. Putting it in categories sounds like a good idea – I’m guessing at the moment that mine will mainly be kitchen! I was hoping to focus on something small at a time, and thought that doing this challenge might help – you of course are an expert by now πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the comment!

    • Aw, thanks! Life got a bit hectic and the blog got neglected, trying to get back into things now though. Sorry for not keeping up with your blog, I’ve been completely out of the blogging world :/ Hope you’re doing okay too πŸ™‚ xx

  2. Good luck with the challenge. I’ve just picked up Bea Johnson’s ‘Zero Waste House’ which is very inspiring – must check out Beth Terry’s book too.

  3. Great to have you back!

    Reminds me of the book Plastic Purge by Michael SanClements. Less plastic … less plastic! It’s difficult to find the line between paranoid and mindful with information like that.

    • Thank you! Hope you’re doing okay. I haven’t heard of that book but sounds like it could be good! I know what you mean, I get a little overwhelmed by it all sometimes so I’m going to see where this challenge takes me and just take small steps πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: A plastic trash challenge! | Minimalist Sometimes

  5. Pingback: Trash Challenge Week 1 | Every Week is Green

  6. Pingback: Trash Challenge Week 2 | Every Week is Green

  7. Pingback: Trash Challenge Week 3 | Every Week is Green

Leave a Reply

