Conditioner

So I’ve discussed shampoo and soap already, but I thought that this week I’d like to turn my attention to conditioner. It’s something I haven’t always bothered with, but my hair isn’t as healthy as I’d like it to be at the moment, so it’s time to investigate an eco-friendly option!

As with many other things, conditioners are generally full of chemicals, and they come in plastic bottles. If you’re a regular reader, you won’t be surprised to know that the first place I turned to for a better option was Lush! (I’m not being paid to advertise them, honest!)

American CreamMy instinctive approach was to go for one of their solid conditioners – Jungle. For what it was, it was pretty good, but I didn’t feel like it was getting to all my hair like a liquid conditioner would do, so I didn’t think it was doing as much good as I’d like.
So now I’m trying Lush’s conditioner American Cream. This does come in a plastic bottle, but it is labelled as made from 100% recycled plastic, so as least I know that Lush are doing their bit to reuse and recycle! So far I’m quite enjoying using this conditioner, so I’m going to stick with it for now.American Cream

 

 

You can also make your own conditioner – and, as usual, there are loads of ideas out there that you can try. I haven’t tried any myself (yet), so I can’t vouch for any.

If you want somewhere to start, I would have a look at this list of 5 Hair Conditoners You Can Make at Home; here’s a snippet:

Avocado Deep Conditioner

  • 1/2 mashed ripe avocado
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 3 drops lavender or rosemary essential oil

Combine ingredients and apply to hair, focusing on the ends. Leave on for at least 10 minutes, then rinse.

From Beauty By Nature by Brigette Mars

[…]

Vinegar Rinses

Vinegar rinses relieve itchy scalp, dandruff, and dull hair and restore the scalp’s natural acid mantle. They are best for normal and oily hair, rather than dry. Use white vinegar for blondes, apple cider vinegar for brunettes, and red wine vinegar for red-heads. Leave the rinse on for at least five minutes if you are going to rinse it out. You can, however, leave it on and any smell will disappear once the hair is dry.

From “Herbal Hair Care,” by Cristi Nunziata

  • Herb blend: For blondes, calendula and chamomile; For dark hair, nettle and marshmallow; or make up your own
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • A few drops of essential oil
  • Distilled water

1. Fill a quart jar half way with herbs. Cover with vinegar and cap tightly. Place the jar in a warm spot for 2-3 weeks, shaking daily.

2. Strain the vinegar and add essential oils. Store in a plastic bottle.

3. Dilute the rinse with distilled water. For oily hair, dilute one part rinse with four parts water. For dry hair, dilute one part rinse with six parts water. After shampooing and rinsing, pour vinegar rinse slowly over hair, massaging it into the scalp. Rinse with water.

From Rosemary Gladstar’s Family Herbal

I’ve love to know what you’ve tried! Do you think it’s best to buy from an ethical company like Lush, make your own, or go without altogether?

17 thoughts on “Conditioner

  1. Always wanted to try Lush’s conditioner but it’s quite expensive for a small bottle and I have to use a lot cause I have really curly hair, but I like how they recycle their bottles and stuff. I use their body scrub which is amazing!

    • I know, I wish Lush could be cheaper, but luckily I don’t have to use much on mine! Which body scrub do you use? I really want to try one of them!

  2. Hey, Joanna 🙂 I like that you found a more sustainable conditioner in a recycled plastic bottle. That’s a great tip. Very recently, I started using vinegar rinses (3 tablespoons to 16 ounces of water). See my blog post for more info and how much I liked it: http://inspiredearthconnection.com/2014/05/08/wash-hair-with-baking-soda-apple-cider-vinegar/

    For a deeper condition, I also use pure coconut oil (works as good as any bottle conditioner and can come in glass jars). I simply put about 1/8 of a teaspoon in my palms, rubbed them together and then gently distributed through my wet hair and then combed to even the distribution. No need to rinse.

    I also will, occasionally do a coconut warm oil treatment on my hair. I wet my hair before washing and distributed maybe 1-3 teaspoons of coconut oil through my hair, so it is very lightly coated (do not overdo it or it may be hard to wash out.). I then put a warm towel over my head and let it sit for an hour and then wash and vinegar rinse after.

    • Hi Erin, I’m so sorry I haven’t yet responded to your comment, I’m afraid it somehow bypassed me!

      I really like the idea of using vinegar rinses but I have to confess I’m a little hesitant about it! Reassuring to read your blog post about it and know that the smell doesn’t linger!

      I’m keen on the coconut oil idea though, and I think I’ll definitely give that a go when my Lush conditioner runs out, especially since you don’t have to use very much even though your hair is so long.

      Thank you for commenting! I love researching options but it’s always great to hear from other people to know what they’re trying 🙂

      • Hi Joanna, the coconut oil works wonderfully! I understand your hesitance about the vinegar. Your hair may smell slightly like salad while it is still wet. LOL. But once it dries, your hair just smells like nothing, like hair.

  3. I’ve started growing my own pot marigold this year in order to make calendula oil. I might take a look at some calendula and camomile conditioning treatments later in the year, when I’ve harvested my flowers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

