Vapour Rub

As many of us are at this time of year, I’m just getting over a cold. The last time I had a blocked nose I bought myself a small tub of vapour rub from Boots, but now I’m wondering if it wouldn’t just be better if I made my own. I’m still going to use up what I already have – I feel like it would be a bit of a waste if I didn’t – but considering that its main ingredient is petroleum (crude oil – Vaseline is made of this too), I definitely want to move on from it when I can!

I’ve had this recipe saved on Pinterest for a while now, and although I can’t vouch for it as I haven’t actually tried it yet, I thought it sounded quite simple and straight-forward so I’m definitely planning on giving it a go!

Coconut Chest Rub

Ingredients
1 heaping spoonful extra virgin coconut oil, in solidified state
3 drops eucalyptus essential oil
3 drops lemon essential oil
*3 drops peppermint essential oil

*my first batch didn’t include this, but my next one did!!
As always, remember to keep essential oils out of the reach of children, and try to use organic ingredients when you can.

1. Mix them together in a small pot and rub into your chest and upper back.

2. If it’s coldish in the house (say, less than mid-20c C or 60s F) you can keep this out at room temperature. Otherwise, put it in a cool place (like the fridge or entryway) so the coconut oil doesn’t liquify.

You can find the original post at http://www.easypeasyorganic.com/2010/05/coconut-chest-rub.html.

Have you tried any similar organic/homemade/eco friendly vapour rubs or cold remedies? It would be great to hear about some more and learn which would be good to try!

4 thoughts on “Vapour Rub

    • I’ve never been keen to try lemon, honey and ginger as I really don’t like lemon-flavoured things. But now you’ve said how amazing it is I might have to try it!

      • Only need a small spoonful either straight or in hot water. I like it straight it soothes my throat faster. Hope you are better.

      • Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad in a small amount! Thanks, I’m pretty much better, just a slight sore throat. Hope you are well too 🙂

Leave a Reply

