Compulsory Plastic Bags?!

So I drafted this post a week ago and I was waiting for a response from an email I sent to help finish it, but that response hasn’t appeared, so here’s the post anyway!

This is my third post about plastic bags…you might be able to guess that this is something I feel strongly about! (For previous rants, please see my posts on Plastic Bags  and Plastic Bag Chaos).

Anyway, this plastic bag post was prompted by a visit to a Sportdirect shop (not somewhere I normally visit). Upon buying a few items, my friend was given a plastic bag. Even though he said he didn’t need it, the shop assistant insisted that it was compulsory to have a bag with a purchase and gave him one anyway. As you can imagine, I was incredibly annoyed by this – how can we be more environmentally friendly if large companies are preventing us from doing so?!

I googled their policy when I got back home, and discovered online complaints from others about the same problem – one even dating back to 2008! I can’t believe they have managed to keep this policy going for so long! (I found nothing about it mentioned on their website despite a long search). So I emailed Sportsdirect about this, asking them to explain their policy in relation to the environment, and I still haven’t heard back!

Have you experienced something similar?

11 thoughts on “Compulsory Plastic Bags?!

  1. We’ve encountered this as well, though not in several years. There are too satisfactory solutions: 1) Ask the clerk to see the manager. Simply tell the manager you are not going to leave the store with a plastic bag you don’t need, and if the manager digs in his/her heels, ask for a refund on what you purchased and leave. 2) Tell the clerk the same thing and leave it up to him/her. No one likes losing a sales and having to restock shelves.
    3) When you get home, write an email to corporate. Don’t bother questioning the policy. Simply tell them that they’ve lost your business over the matter.
    It’s been a long war with slow progress, but we Are winning this plastic bag thing! Cheers!

    • Thanks for the advice! I think I was too shocked to do anything unfortunately – I did send an email when I got home but I haven’t had any response. Thank you for commenting, it’s really good to hear others are fighting plastic bags too!

  2. In Tasmania shops aren’t allowed to give you plastic bags! You can pay for a recyclable bag if you want but it has really encouraged everyone to bring their own! Hopefully the rest of Australia follows suit

  3. Have I experienced something similar? The short answer is YES!! The long answer will be tonight’s blog post. Keep an eye out for it.

    Plastic bags are my particular mission, too. Keep up the good work. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Plastic Bags – A Curse | organised castle

  5. First, heartfelt thanks for your support of Clump A Day! You can’t imagine how welcome it is.
    Your post, above, came to me the same morning I read a blurb about the book, “Plastic Purge: How to Use Less Plastic, Eat Better, Keep Toxins out of Your Body, and Help Save the Sea Turtles!” “This worthwhile little tome packs a wallop consisting of equal portions of healthy education and pertinent entertainment.” –Kirkus Reviews
    With much appreciation!

    • That’s no problem – I really enjoy reading your blog!
      That sounds like a book that I need to have a peek at, thank you for the tip 🙂 Keep up the good work x

Leave a Reply

