An Old Year and A New One

A rather belated happy new year! Apologies for my lack of blog posts in the last few weeks – hopefully this is about to change!

I thought I’d use this post to look at what I’ve achieved since starting this blog, and what I hope to explore in 2014. Please feel free to comment with any ideas or suggestions that you might have, and let me know what you’ve been doing to go green!

I look around wherever I go, and sometimes I despair about the amount of plastic I see everywhere, the unnecessary packaging and plastic bags, and how much further I still have to go before I’ll feel that I’m really living a ‘green’ life. But anyway, I’m getting there and I thought you would be interested in a little summary of what I’ve done (and how easy it would be for you to do some of these things too!)

  • I no longer use shampoo in plastic bottles – instead, I’ve tried out three solid shampoo bars from Lush: Jumping Juniper, Trichomania and Ultimate Shine (which I’m currently using). They take a little bit of getting used to, but they come in a range of types and scents and I’m happy to know that this is one place I have reduced my plastic consumption in! I’m also planning to start using Lush’s solid conditioner bar Jungle when my current conditioner runs out. You can apply the same principle to soap too – buy it made locally, from natural ingredients and with as little packaging as possible.
  • I don’t use disposable razors or toothbrushes anymore – I have an epilator and an electric toothbrush. This cuts down on plastic waste!
  • The only items of clothing I now buy brand new are underwear (including tights). Everything else I have been buying second hand from charity shops.
  • Same with books and games – I buy them secondhand whenever possible (and they’re generally cheaper this way too!) I’m trying to borrow more books from the library too.
  • I have three stainless steel water bottles (of different sizes), which I use instead of plastic bottles and disposable plastic cups. Mine came from One Green Bottle and Klean Kanteen, but if you search around there are lots of other options too!
  • I avoid plastic bags whenever possible, using my reusable ones instead.
  • I rarely use tissues – I got some lovely hankies for Christmas to add to my hanky collection, so I use those as much as possible instead.

So that’s some of what I’ve done so far – but I’d still like to do more! This year, these are  a few of the things I want to try and focus on:

  • Food
  • Packaging
  • Minimalism
  • Experiences rather than material gifts
  • Small items I haven’t explored yet: e.g. sponges, nail varnish (and nail varnish remover), cotton wool, straws, paper etc.
  • Underwear – organic cotton or items made of recycled materials.

I’ll be trying to get back into regularly posting once a week again, and continuing to go green! What are your green plans for 2014?

7 thoughts on “An Old Year and A New One

  1. I have never heard of bar shampoo, I will have to look for that. I just had solar panels placed on my home and am excited about that. In addition to recycling whenever possible I have started making my own laundry detergent and fabric softener.

    I am impressed by your efforts to lead a green life. Thanks for giving even more options for going green that I had not thought of trying.

    • They’re great, no plastic packaging and they last for quite a while too! Congrats on the solar panels, I wish I could do that but it’ll have to wait until I have my own house and enough funds!

      Thank you, I’m glad you’re finding my blog helpful. It’s amazing how many little things you can do that can make a big difference.

      • When you are able to have your home you may look into leasing solar panels. I don’t know what kind of programs are in the UK but right now we have some companies who will lease the panels. Besides being green, my payment on the solar panel lease is cheaper than my old electric bill.. That is a win, win situation 🙂
        I am enjoying your green living tips very much and find them very helpful.

  2. I read most of my books on an e reader now. I’m taking public transportation to and from work even when I could be buying a new car. I’m just not stoked over the accumulation of debt concerning car purchases. I still love to find cool items in second hand stores, and I’m going to be giving away plenty of old clothes I don’t need or want anymore. Also, my approach to minimalism has me relying on fulfillment through the creation process, instead of consumerism. Nice post. I enjoyed reading

    • Thank you! I still haven’t quite gone over to the e-reader idea, but I am giving away of a lot of my possessions now – especially books and CDs – that I’ve realised I’ll never want again. I’m trying a similar approach to minimalism, planning on doing a post on it soon. Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

