Week 10: Hair Brushes and Accessories

This week, the fact that the hair brush I keep in my handbag has lost most of its teeth has become impossible to ignore, so I’m on the hunt for a suitable alternative to replace it. It’s small, purple and pretty much entirely made of plastic, so although it’s been useful to have to hand when I need it, I’d like an eco-friendly alternative to replace it!

Botanics hair brush

A few years ago, I bought myself a soft hair brush from the Botanics range in Boots (see the photo!) Although they don’t make this particular one anymore, this range is one of the best I’ve managed to come across! Their handles are made of FSC wood and the bristles are made of natural boar bristles. So I’ve got my eye on their Handbag Brush – it’s £5.09, but considering that I’ve had my previous handbag brush for probably over 5 or 6 years, I reckon it’ll be a good investment!

I would definitely recommend an option like this – not many people will want to use a second-hand hairbrush, so I think buying one made of sustainable materials is the next best thing.

Finding eco-friendly hair bands and hair grips, on the other hand, has been a bit more of a struggle! I found a fair few organic cotton head bands, but I wanted to find something that I could use to tie my hair up properly. The only thing I could think of – making your own – would probably require elastic (which isn’t exactly good for the environment), unless you want to tie your hair up with some ribbon!

So, if you have any good ideas on this, please let me know!

(Also see my Week 1: Shampoo post for advice on eco-friendly shampoo!)

Leave a Reply

