Week 9: Shoes

I find that I need to buy new shoes quite often. I don’t have many pairs, so I tend to wear the same ones very often until they wear out and I have to replace them. This bothers me because shoes are often made out of very cheap materials, generally including plastic of some kind.

I’d really like to find a way to make buying shoes more eco-friendly, but I’ve struggled a bit with coming up with ideas.

There are companies that sell eco-friendly shoes, but unfortunately all the ones I’ve come across are very expensive. If you’re interested, check out Nigel’s Eco Store, Meher Kakalia or Spartoo. Or have a browse around online!

I have thought of a couple of other options if you don’t want to spend an absolute fortune on shoes (which I don’t). Unfortunately they don’t really come close to the ultimately eco-friendly shoes that I was hoping for, but they’re a start:

    • Buy from charity shops, second hand shops, ebay etc. I always support doing this because it means that you can get an item you want, saving it from being thrown away until it is completely beyond being used. It also means that you’re supporting a charity or individual rather than a large chain.
    • Wear hand-me-downs. Obviously this one will only work if you have someone who is willing to hand things down to you, and who is of the right size!
    • Buy very good quality shoes, instead of cheap ones (such as from Primark or Shoe Zone), so that you buy less and they last for longer. I think if I can’t find any suitable ones in charity shops then this is the option I’ll be going for.

If you’re looking to get rid of old shoes, then either recycle them – I can do this through my council, but there are also always charity bins dotted around, often in supermarket car parks, that you can put your used shoes in – or, if they’re still in good condition, donate them to a charity or second hand shop so that someone else can wear them!

Good luck with going green this week!

3 thoughts on “Week 9: Shoes

  1. Pingback: Clothes and Project 333 | Every Week is Green

  2. You find so much interesting clothes when you buy second hand as well!
    Don’t forget sites like ebay too – it’s brilliant for getting second hand good quality clothes at a low price and you can ask sellers to minimise the packaging.
    Great blog love ideas 🙂

    • Thanks! I agree, I found a pretty floral t-shirt from Spain that I would never have found if not for the charity shop! I haven’t investigated ebay for clothes much yet as I do like to try things on first. I have used it to find other second-hand things like games and books though.
      Thanks for having a look at my blog 🙂 Been enjoying yours too.

Leave a Reply

