Week 6: Razors

This week I’ve been trying to figure out the best alternative to the disposable razors I currently use. This post will be based on feminine razors/equivalents as I don’t know much about the ones men use, but I imagine most of the points I make will apply to those too.

It took me an embarrassingly long time to realise that I didn’t have to use a disposable razor. I really don’t know why it didn’t occur to me for such a long time, but once it did, I tried to figure out a way to stop using one. For me personally, the main options seem to be:

1. Use a razor with disposable blades (so you only have to buy new blades, rather than replacing the entire razor).

2. Buy a razor blade sharpener to prolong the life of your razor blades (saves having to keep buying new ones!)

3. Use an electronic shaver or epilator.

(As with many things, the utterly no-waste option, stop using a razor altogether, isn’t an avenue I really want to explore. There are always personal limits involved in going green!)

Well, I bought myself an epilator a year or so ago, although this wasn’t so much to replace my use of a razor altogether but more to see if it be more effective than a razor on my legs. (If you’re interested, there’s a photo below (best I could manage), and I bought it from Boots. They don’t seem to sell it anymore, but they do sell similar ones. Also, they might seem expensive, but I managed to get mine in a sale.) Even though it has turned out to be effective, I still use a disposable razor on my underarms, so this is what I’m trying to alter.

Philips Satinelle Soft epilator

I have looked around and tried to find razors with disposable blades, and blade sharpeners. Although I have found both, I still feel somewhat dissatisfied with the idea of resorting to either. Even if you’re just buying disposable blades, they are still expensive and come with a great deal of packaging, and eventually the razor itself will give out and you’ll have to buy a new one. I think if you do want to go for this option then a blade sharpener is a good idea (I did a quick search on Amazon and found a few – I’m sure there are loads more out there.)

For a useful article, see this one on using an eco-friendly razor. Although it’s from an American point of view, meaning the suggested products are American, it still gives useful tips. My favourite is the idea to look for razors made of recycled materials. If you’re going with the disposable option then I can’t recommend this enough!

Anyway, my option has been to return to my epilator. It came with a shaving attachment, in addition to the epilation head, which for a reason I can’t quite fathom I have ignored so far. Since I bought this epilator before I started my drive to become greener, I feel that throwing it away would be more wasteful than keeping it, and so I’m going to try to make more use out of it. It might take a bit of time to get used to, but I feel that for the moment it’s the most eco-friendly option I could go with. Goodbye disposable razors!

Leave a Reply

