Week 5: Tissues

This topic is one I’ve managed to have a lot of success with. Obviously, in this case, going without tissues altogether (as you might potentially be able to go without shampoo, if you wanted) isn’t really feasible, but there are a few good options instead.

If you’re still wedded to the idea of using disposable tissues then, like with toilet paper, there are lots of recycled tissue options you can experiment with. I think if you have a browse around some local supermarkets then you’re likely to find something to suit you, but to give you a head start, you could try Waitrose’s recycled paper tissues, or Tesco recycled facial tissues. I imagine most supermarkets have their own similar brand, so if this is what you want to do then you should have no problems finding something.

I’ve decided to go one step further and replace tissues with hankies. This is mainly because I want to cut down on the amount of waste I produce, and bins do tend to fill up with tissues fairly quickly!

I’ve started by simply using the hankies I’ve already got, which used to be somewhat neglected at the bottom of a drawer. I accumulated these whilst I was growing up, and although some of them are a bit old, they’re still perfectly usable. This has led me to investigate the kinds of hankies you can buy. A very green option is to go for organic cotton hankies (see The Organic Farm Shop and Organic Ally for some examples). The problem I have with these is that they seem so expensive!

So I decided to see how easy it would be to make my own. I’ve found a couple of good tutorials – Prepared Housewives’s Sew Your Own Hankies and Fun in the Making’s Make Your Own No-Sew Eco-Friendly T-Shirt Tissues, which sounds like the easiest – and so this definitely seems like the greenest option to me. This obviously depends on your sewing skills too. No packaging or having to buy any new materials if you don’t want to! This is definitely going to be my next step when I’ve worn out a top that seems soft enough! I’ll update this post when I’ve tried out the tutorial and made some.

Leave a Reply

