Week 1: Shampoo

The first area of my life that I want to examine is shampoo. My hair gets very greasy, and so I get through a lot of shampoo. This means a lot of chemicals and a lot of packaging. So I wanted to find a shampoo that doesn’t use unnecessary packaging, and that is both natural and good for my hair (and for the environment when it goes down the drain!)

These are the options I came up with:

1. Stop using shampoo entirely.

I have to confess that I find the idea of going without shampoo entirely rather frightening. My hair becomes very unattractive even if I wash it every other day, and I don’t quite feel prepared for this option yet. If you are, I recommend Lulastic’s blog, which explores her year of going without shampoo, in addition to Ten Alternatives to Shampoo.

But I do think that I can cut down on how often I use shampoo, without cutting it out entirely. From washing my hair every day, I’m going to try and to cut it down to every other day. On the days I don’t use shampoo, I’ll just rinse it in water when I’m in the shower and massage my scalp (see the alternatives to shampoo link).

2. Source shampoo sold in recycled/recyclable bottles, or with no packaging.

Jumping Juniper

For the days I do use shampoo, I’ve managed to source a shampoo that is both made from natural ingredients and doesn’t use any packaging (aside from a small, recyclable paper bag that it was sold to me in!) Instead, I’m keeping it in a pink plastic soap dish that I’ve had for ages. This is Lush’s solid shampoo bar, Jumping Juniper. I chose this one in particular it because it’s aimed at people with greasy hair like me!

Quick product review: it lathers very well, but the smell is disappointing because it isn’t strong enough for me to be able to smell it when I’m using it, or even afterwards. But the website does say that the shampoo bars should last for much longer than a normal bottle of shampoo, so although I forked out £5.25 for it, I’ve justified this because it will hopefully be economically worth it in the long run!

3. Find chemical-free, organic or vegan options.

If you’d rather buy a bottle of shampoo, here are some good options. I haven’t tried them all out (as I’m on a budget I don’t have the means to), but I have seen good reviews and heard other people talking about them:

  • Original Source: they are vegan, and use a lot of natural ingredients. They don’t do a very wide selection of shampoos, however.
  • Faith in Nature: most ingredients are naturally sourced, and none are tested on animals.
  • Aveeno: uses natural ingredients and tries to reduce the amount of packaging it uses.

There are a lot of other options for natural shampoos, but unfortunately they can be quite expensive, and my aim here is to be going green on a budget! If you want to find more, check out this list of 5 of the best eco-friendly shampoos, or do a quick Google search!

4. Make my own shampoo.

I have also found some options on making your own shampoo, which I am tempted to try when my Lush shampoo bar runs out:

5. Combine some of the above!

I’m feeling quite pleased with this first step towards going green! I’ve eliminated buying shampoo in a plastic bottle, in addition to a lot of the chemicals that most shampoos contain. And I’m trying to use less of it by cutting down how often I wash my hair.

Let me know if you’ve tried out any of these options, or have any other alternatives to suggest!

6 thoughts on “Week 1: Shampoo

  1. Pingback: Week 10: Hair Brushes and Accessories | Every Week is Green

  2. No shampoo or conditioner here for more than 3 years. It takes a few weeks to get into the habit. I do wash my head/hair a few times a week under the shower using plain water but no soaps at all.

    Barb.

  3. I gave up shampoo when I cut my hair short. But when I still had longer hair I found that I could gradually cut down on shampoo to the point that I was only washing it with shampoo once a week or less when I finally opted for a pixie cut. Of course it depends on your hair type, but I think that over time your hair will gradually adjust to being shampooed less and you’ll find that the oil production will slow as you stop stripping your hair. My hairdresser had beautiful thick long hair which she washed with baking soda – I was so pleased when she admitted that she didn’t use products either! At first I was allowing her to shampoo my hair, thinking that it was the right thing to do for her comfort. So I was shampooing my hair once a month at hair cut time, and it would take a week to get back to normal after that (it would be dry and flyaway, so I run my fingers through with some coconut oil to try and condition it). Eventually she asked if I really wanted it shampooed at all and I gleefully said NO! and that was the end of the shampoo.
    This post was obviously months ago so I’m curious if you’ve made any progress since. If you are trying to wean off shampoo I would start by alternating shampoo day with washing your hair in the shower without using any shampoo and seeing how that goes. After a few weeks, if that’s going OK, you would stretch it to shampooing a couple of times a week, and then maybe get to once a week. I find that running my fingers through my hair under a hot shower is plenty for redistributing the oils in my hair, but your hair may be different. Maybe try when you’re on holiday? or during hat season? 🙂

    • Hi!
      Since writing this post (over a year ago now!) I have been cutting down how often I wash my hair. Currently I’m on every 3 days, washing it just with water on the other days. Great to hear of someone else who recommends that too. I’m not sure about the vinegar/baking soda idea that I’ve heard a lot about so I’m sticking to natural shampoo bars and water for now.
      That’s interesting about your hairdressing shampooing your hair, and amazing that it took so long to recover! Just shows how shampoos can affect your hair.
      Hoping to get my hair washing down to once a week at some stage as that would be great! 🙂
      Thank you so much for commenting – and for reading through some of my old posts too. So lovely to hear what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

